Mo Farah breaks silence on ‘Muslim ban’: ‘I have to tell my children daddy might not come home’

Earlier today, I reported that Somalia-born Olympian, Mo Farah, may not be able to return to his family home in Oregon due to President Donald Trump’s controversial Muslim ban.

On Friday, the divisive US President signed an executive order that banned immigrants from seven Muslim nations from entering the United States, including Syria, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen for three months.

Mo is currently training in Ethiopia.

This ban extends to immigrants who already have a green card to live in the USA, with it being widely reported that US citizens who were travelling when the ban was imposed are now struggling to return to the States if they have a passport from one of the banned countries.

Mo, who is a practicing Muslim and was born in Mogadishu, is currently training in Ethiopia whilst his wife, Rhianna, looks after their four children in their American home.

Writing on Facebook, the Olympic star has now released a statement on the ban, admitting that it has made him feel like an ‘alien’, he poignantly wrote: “On 1st January this year, Her Majesty The Queen made me a Knight of the Realm. On 27th January, President Donald Trump seems to have made me an alien.

Mo lives in Oregon with his wife and their four children.

“I am a British citizen who has lived in America for the past six years – working hard, contributing to society, paying my taxes and bringing up our four children in the place they now call home.

“Now, me and many others like me are being told that we may not be welcome.

“It’s deeply troubling that I will have to tell my children that Daddy might not be able to come home – to explain why the President has introduced a policy that comes from a place of ignorance and prejudice.

Trump has faced severe backlash for the move.

“I was welcomed into Britain from Somalia at eight years old and given the chance to succeed and realise my dreams. I have been proud to represent my country, win medals for the British people and receive the greatest honour of a knighthood.

“My story is an example of what can happen when you follow polices of compassion and understanding, not hate and isolation.”

US citizens have been protesting the ban at international airports.

Mo has since been inundated with support from his followers, with many people across the US already protesting Trump’s ruling at international airports.

As well as banning immigrants, Trump has also banned all refugees from entering the US for the next four months, with refugees from Syria banned “indefinitely”.

Leave a Reply

