One Direction songwriter ‘heartbroken’ WMYB was used at Donald Trump’s Inaugural Ball

The songwriter behind One Direction’s hit debut single, ‘What Makes You Beautiful’, Savan Kotecha, is absolutely devastated that President Donald Trump used the track at his Inaugural Ball on Friday.

Kotecha has insisted that The Piano Guys, who performed the cover of the song to celebrate Trump’s presidency, did not have permission to do so.

Savan wrote the song about his wife.

Savan wrote the song about his wife.

Writing on Twitter, Kotecha revealed that he will try to take action against the group, writing: “They were absolutely NOT given permission to use WMYB at the inaugural ball.

“I will be looking into taking action”

He later added: “There’s nothing I can do re WMYB now, but the song was written out of love for my wife.

“It’s just heartbreaking that it was used to celebrate a man who stands for divisiveness.”

Kotecha continued to Billboard: “I wrote ‘What Makes You Beautiful’ for my wife. To me the song is about love, joy, and acceptance.

“The fact that it was used to celebrate a man who stands for divisiveness and bigotry breaks my heart.

“I am the son of immigrants. My children are biracial. A ‘Trump America’ makes me worried for their future.

Savan was close to 1D after writing their debut single for them.

Savan was close to 1D after writing their debut single for them.

“I’m sure there is nothing I can do about the use of the song at the inauguration now, but i felt I needed to express my disappointment.”

None of One Direction have commented on the song being used, but The Piano Guys’ rendition comes after it was reported that Trump was struggling to find acts willing to perform as he became president.

In contrast, Barack Obama had performances from the likes of Beyonce and Stevie Wonder at his inaugurations.

Leave a Reply

